Last chance to enter the Alfred Fagon Award

Published: Wednesday, 26th July 2017, 11:29am

Alfred Fagon Award
Alfred Fagon Award

Award Eligibility and Entry Criteria
The Award is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK, for the best, original new stage play in English.

Plays must be full length and presented as double-spaced, single-sided, in Times New Roman, font 12pt and be a minimum of 40 pages.

Television, radio plays and film scripts will not be considered.

The play does not need to have been produced.  However, if it has, only plays produced since August 2016 will be considered.

Each submitted play must be accompanied by a CV, confirming the writer’s Caribbean and/or African heritage and residency in the UK along with a brief synopsis of the play. (The CV must also include an email address and a contact telephone number).

Each entrant can submit only one play. A play may also be nominated by a third party with the writer’s consent (e.g. via an agent).

New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.

Two copies of your script should be sent to: Pauline Walker, Administrator & Creative Producer, The Alfred Fagon Award, c/o Talawa Theatre Company, 53-55 East Road, London, N1 6AH.

An electronic copy of the play should also be sent by email to

Deadline for all entries: 5pm, Friday 28th July 2017.

Judging and Prize
The Award is given to the best new play judged by the Selection Committee.
The winning writer wins £6,000.

Selection Committee
Brian Walters (Chair)
Natasha Bonnelame
Mimi Findlay
Dr. Judith Malone-Fagon
Joan Ann-Maynard
Olusola Oyeleye
Matthew Xia

All applicants will be notified by email of their entry’s safe arrival. No correspondence will be entered into between the Selection Committee and applicants.

Only shortlisted writers will be contacted in early November 2017.

The writer of the winning play will be announced at The Alfred Fagon Award ceremony on Friday 8th December 2017.

The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year is supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation

Related links

Winners announced for the 2016 Alfred Fagon Award
Other Alfred Fagon Award stories on Afridiziak Theatre News