Voting Open for the Alfred Fagon Audience Award 2015

Published: Wednesday, September 2, 2015 0:17 AM
Alfred Fagon Audience Award 2015 Alfred Fagon Audience Award 2015

The Alfred Fagon Award (AFA) has created The Alfred Fagon Audience Award to recognize and celebrate the depth of talented Black British playwrights of Caribbean and African descent writing in Britain today.

Each year the top three plays voted for by the public in an online poll will win the award.

Plays eligible for the award were produced between 1st September 2014 and 31st August 2015.

Online public voting takes place between September 2015 and October 2015.

The inaugural awards will be presented to the writers at the 2015 Alfred Fagon Awards at Royal National Theatre in London along with the annual prize for Best New Play of the Year.

Throughout the year the Writers Guild of Britain (WGGB) and UK Theatre promoted the award to writers and theatres across the country with writers nominating their plays for the award.

Eleven plays are nominated. They are:

  • Amsterdam by Chanje Kunda
  • Boi Boi is Dead by Zodway Nyoni
  • East End Boys, West End Girls by Ade Solanke
  • Hang by Debbie Tucker Green
  • How Nigeria Became: A Story And A Spear That Didn’t Work by Gbolahan Obisesan
  • Liberian Girl by Diana Nneka Atuona
  • Muscovado by Matilda Ibini
  • Pandora’s Box by Ade Solanke
  • Play Mas by Mustapha Matura
  • The Honey Man by Tyrone Huggins
  • Upper Cut by Juliet Gilkes Romero

The public can vote online here

Related links

See further links on the Alfred Fagon Award

join our mailing list
* indicates required
Get regular updates on what's happening in the world of African-Caribbean theatre and win theatre tickets.