Call for submissions: 2014 Alfred Fagon Award

Published: Thursday, July 3, 2014 7:56 AM
Call for submissions: 2014 Alfred Fagon Award Call for submissions: 2014 Alfred Fagon Award

Award Eligibility and Entry Criteria

The Award is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK, for the best new stage play in English.

The play does not need to have been produced. However, if it has, only plays produced since August 2013 will be considered.

Each submitted play must be accompanied by a CV, confirming the writer's Caribbean and/or African heritage and residency in the UK along with a brief synopsis of the play. (CV must also include your email address and a contact telephone number).

Each entrant can submit only one play. A play may also be nominated by a third party with the writer's consent (e.g. via an agent). Television, radio plays and film scripts will not be considered. New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.

Two copies of your script should be sent to: Pauline Walker, Producer, The Alfred Fagon Award, c/o Talawa Theatre Company, 53-55 East Road, London, N1 6AH.

An electronic copy of the play should also be sent by email to

Deadline for all entries: Noon, Friday, 1 August 2014.

Judging and Prize
The Award is given to the best new play judged by the Selection Committee.
The winning writer wins £6,000.

Selection Committee for The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year 2014:
Anton Phillips (Chair)
Brian Walters (National Theatre)
Errol Lloyd (Playwright)
Dr. Judith Malone-Fagon
Havana Wellings-Longmore (Talawa Theatre Company)
Sola Oyeleye (Theatre Director)
Sheelagh Killeen (co-Treasurer and Trustee Alfred Fagon Award).

All applicants will be notified by email of their entry's safe arrival. No correspondence will be entered into between the Selection Committee and applicants.

Only shortlisted writers will be contacted in early November 2014.
The writer of the winning play will be announced at The Alfred Fagon Award ceremony in late November 2014.

The Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year is supported by
The Peggy Ramsay Foundation
Twitter: @AlfredFagonAwrd
Facebook: Alfred Fagon Prize

Related links

Diana Nneka Atuona wins 2013 Alfred Fagon Award
Download programme from 2013 Alfred Fagon Award
In pictures - 2013 Alfred Fagon Award
Diana Nneka Atuona - interview
Danny James - interview
Juliet Gilkes Romero - interview
Martin Edwards - interview
Oladipo Agboluaje - interview
Chino Odimba - interview
Denton Chikura - interview
Shortlist for 2013 Alfred Fagon Award

join our mailing list
* indicates required
Get regular updates on what's happening in the world of African-Caribbean theatre and win theatre tickets.