Award winning playwright Bola Agbaje joins judging panel for Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2013

Published: Monday, January 7, 2013 12:15 PM
Bruntwood Prize for Playwrighting Bruntwood Prize for Playwrighting

Bola Agbaje and Vicky Featherstone will join the 2013 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting judges Dame Jenni Murray, David Eldridge, Marianne Elliot, Suranne Jones and Benedict Nightingale on the panel for the public launch event What Makes a Great Play? taking place on 30 January 2013.

On the eve of the prize opening for entries on 31 January, the panel will discuss the question of what makes a great play and the role of the writer in the theatre, offering different perspectives from their wealth of experience. For both budding and experienced playwrights the event is for anyone looking to develop their work.

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting, in partnership with the Royal Exchange Theatre, aims to discover and promote the best writing for theatre. The prize has established itself as the UK’s most significant playwriting prize and is rapidly becoming one of the country’s best springboards for emerging playwriting talent, counting Vivienne Franzmann, Duncan Macmillan, Ben Musgrave and Andrew Sheridan as past winners. Since its launch in 2005, over 5000 scripts have been entered, £120,000 has been awarded to 11 prize winning writers and six winning productions have been staged.

The 2013 competition is open from 31 January to 3 June 2013 with a total prize fund of £40,000. For more information please visit

Info: 'What Makes a Great Play' takes place on Wednesday, January 30th at The Barbican Centre (Frobisher Auditorium) Silk Street London EC2Y 8DS, 7pm, £5 for Times+ members, £7 for non-members

Related links

Interview with Bola Agbaje

join our mailing list
* indicates required
Get regular updates on what's happening in the world of African-Caribbean theatre and win theatre tickets.