Levi David Addai wins 2011 Alfred Fagon Award

Published: Wednesday, January 4, 2012 12:14
Levi David Addai
Levi David Addai

Levi David Addai has won the 2011 Alfred Fagon Award for his play Blacklands. The Award was presented to him by distinguished actress, Mona Hammond OBE at a ceremony held at the National Theatre Monday 28th November, followed by a staged reading of the play in the Cottesloe.

Blacklands was written by Levi while he was on attachment at the Royal Court Theatre. The play follows Daniel Roberts’ search for forgiveness eight years after the murder of his classmate, Tunde Taiwo.

The Award, for £5,000, was set up in 1997 in memory of the writer Alfred Fagon and is given to the author of the best new play for theatre in English by writers from Africa or the Caribbean or with Caribbean or African antecedence, who are resident in the UK.

Past winners of the Award include Roy Williams (Starstruck and Sucker Punch), Michael Abbensetts (The Good Doctor’s Son), Michael Bhim (Daydreams of Hailey), Lorna French (Safe House), Paula B Stanic (What’s Lost) and Rachel De-lahay (SW17-re-titled The Westbridge and currently on at the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs, Royal Court).

The Award is funded by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation.

Info: www.talawa.com

Related links
Interview with Patricia Cumper

join our mailing list
* indicates required
Get regular updates on what's happening in the world of African-Caribbean theatre and win theatre tickets.